FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Focuscanada.net Has A Folding@home Team
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Alright... the few of you who know me well enough know that I love my distributed computing for cancer research.

The project I've been supporting for 2 years now has been starting to wind down with not much disclosure over how much progress has been made.

I was thinking of creating a "FocusCanada.net" Folding@Home team.

Running the bugger is dead simple. The guys at F@H have made a foolproof installer for the main (graphical) client, and there's a nice no-nonsense console version with service-install option for us computer guys.

Is anyone else here interested in helping Stanford University fight cancer?

If so, I'll create the team tonight. I just got started with this project, but as a precursor to show I'm committed, I'll let you know know how many combined CPU years the current team I have has contributed: http://www.grid.org/services/teams/team.ht...56-DD0F8EB22B3B - That's 40 CPU YEARS. Of continuous work.

The reason I say approximately is because as I went to login to Grid.org and check our stats... the damn login to the secure member pages is BROKEN. They've been on a downhill slide for months, and that's why I want to shift us away to the other project.

So, in a nutshell: Folding@Home is good. It's easy to install, run and join the team.

Any takers?

Folding@Home's main page
sure wth I used to fold.. start the team up I'll join on.
Sorry, I can't help with folding@home, but I already have a grid client on my machine.

www.worldcommunitygrid.org

powered by IBM, and better managed in my opinion. The projects they're working on are pretty much the same as all the other grid schemes -- protein folding.

to be honest, I've only been running it for the past week and a half, but have amassed over 30 days worth of computing time...